Add Women to History and Stir

An interview with me by my publisher, Jeffrey Collyer, to coincide with the publication of my new historical novel The Anarchy – the final book in the Conquest trilogy set in 12th century Wales, England, and Normandy. The book is available now as an e-book and will be out as a paperback in the next…

Publication Day – The Anarchy

The Anarchy is the final novel in my Conquest series focused on Nest ferch Rhys and the 12th century struggle between the Welsh and the Normans. Published today by Impress Books. The e-book is out today and the paperback is coming in a few weeks.

The salt sea flood

My new novel, The Anarchy, is published next week by Impress Books. It is the final book in the Conquest trilogy, focused on the life of Nest ferch Rhys and the 12th century struggle between the Welsh and the Normans. In the novel I (anachronistically) use a poem by the Welsh bard Dafydd ap Gwilym: Yr wylan deg ar lanw,…

The Anarchy

History offers so many fascinating true stories for a historical novelist to wind in with the fiction. I have just completed revisions to the manuscript of my final novel in the Conquest series on the life of the 12th century Welsh princess, Nest ferch Rhys. Some of the true bits in the new novel, The Anarchy, include…

Spies and intrigues in the 12th century

I am currently hard at work on the final book in my Conquest series about the Welsh and the Normans in the 12th century. The trilogy is centred on the life of Nest ferch Rhys, the daughter of the last Welsh king of the south-west kingdom of Deheubarth. The final book is called The Anarchy and will…

Beautiful books

      Reading W.G. Sebald’s The Rings of Saturn and The Mabinogion. Writing about the Norman White Ship disaster and the struggles of the Welsh princes to oust the Norman invaders in my novel in progress, The Anarchy.

Author’s Inspiration

My post on writing historical fiction, and especially the Conquest trilogy, is published today on Mary Anne Yarde’s Blogpost. (Image above is Fontevraud Abbey, which is where part of the second book, The Drowned Court, is set.)